logo
Icelandic Horse Connection

Barefoot and Natural Trims

Link to this page!
A high percentage of Icelandics who are allowed to go barefoot seem to thrive without shoes.

This really tell us how far we've come just in the past handful of years. About a half dozen years ago, most of the Icelandic Horses were shod because, well, just because that's the way it's always been done!

Reason given was that you were cruel to the horse to ride him without shoes.

Boy, the excitement when Kerckhaert had a distributor in the US! Now "real" icelandic shoes were available.

No one questioned why the horse had to wear special *icelandic* shoes, or how they were different from any other shoe. Remember Kerckhaert says they make them heavier because that's the way the trainers want them. (We should try to figure out who, exactly, first put weighted shoes on Icelandics; was it Feldmann?)

So, in that short a time span, we're now discussing different barefoot methods!

It's a big change for the horse!

Can your horse be barefoot? Is it healthier than having shoes?

Find out here:

[] Free Cavallo Barefoot Trim Manual http://www.cavallo-inc.com/pdfs/CAVALLOBarefootTrim_002.pdf

[] The Naked Hoof http://www.thenakedhoof.com.au/

[] Martha Olivo http://www.marthaolivo.com/

[] Dani Lloyd, Barefoot Trims http://iceryder.net/dani/

[] The Horse's Hoof http://www.thehorseshoof.com/main.html

[] Tribe Equus http://www.tribeequus.com/

[] The Natural Hoof http://www.naturalhoof.co.nz/

[] Barefoot For Soundness http://www.barefoothorse.com/

[] Equinextion http://www.equinextion.com/

[] The Natural Horse Trim http://www.naturalhorsetrim.com/

[] No Hoof, No Horse http://www.nohoof-nohorse.com/home.html

[] Hope for Soundness http://www.hopeforsoundness.com/

[] Lady Farrier http://www.ladyfarrier.com/content_pages/2002/summer/barefoot_persuasion.html

[] Jaime Jackson http://www.Jaime-Jackson.com/

[] The Horse's Hoof http://www.thehorseshoof.com

[] Hoof Talk http://www.hooftalk.com/

[] Institute of Barefoot Equine Management http://www.ibem.org.uk/

[] Dani Lloyd, Barefoot Trims http://iceryder.net/dani/

[] Hoof Care http://www.hoofcare.com/news/conf_shoemaker.html

[] The Glass Horse http://www.hoofcare.com/the_glass_horse.html

To contact us, please go to the Contact Page.

Home